Bonniconlon Qualify for Next Round

  • Aug 10,2020

Bonniconlon overcame fierce rivals Swinford by 0-12 to 0-9 in Swinford on Saturday (August 8) and in the process booked their place in the last eight 

of the Intermediate championship for the first time since winning the competition in 1997.

Despite a slow start, Bonniconlon hit their stride in the second quarter and they led by three points at the interval 0-6 to 0-3. 

That lead was increased further thanks to a blistering start to the second half but Swinford clung on and despite being reduced to 13 men in the second half,

the home side fought back and it took late points from Conor Igoe and Áodhán Harrington to put the result beyond doubt. Bonniconlon now face Kiltimagh in

their final group game.

All this week's fixtures here



Daniel Devine; Martin Durcan. Eoghan Greavy, Jason O?Malley; Ronan Conlon, Pierce Durcan. Conor Igoe (0-4); Jonathan Lavelle (0-1), Cillian Upton: Niall Greavy. Wesley Loftus, Ronan Neary (0-1); S Neary, A Harrington (0-3), D Walsh (0-3 2f).

 Subs used: Ciarán Gaughan for Walsh (45 mins); Richard McKenzie for Lavelle (58 mins); James Rafter for S Neary (60 mins).



Aaron Kinsella; Alan McLoughlin, Sean Prendergast, Stephen McNicholas; Sean Brady, Mark Forkan, James Lavin; Michael Walsh, John Burke (0-1); Conor Conway, Michael Prendergast (0-1), Liam Moran 0-6 (0-5f); Sean Murphy, Colin Dempsey, Darren Campbell (0-1). Subs used: David Brady for Murphy (30 mins); Joshua Smith for Conway (30 mins); Jason McLoughlin for Campbell (58 mins).


Referee: N Cooney (Achill)